"The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain the reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The above statement is itself a contentious one. While many believe that an optimistic and positive vision towards a particular action brings self confidence, others have a discordant view. Here, I will argue to the fact that “over-confidence” follows “over-positivity”. A person, specifically when teaching, should keep equilibrium between the positive and counter-positive actions without ignoring either of them.

One cogent reason for my belief comes from automobile history. In 1920s, Francis W. Davis worked at an automobile company and noticed the difficulty in handling the hard steering while driving. He left the company and, keeping in mind the consecutive negative action, made the very first power steering, which exemplified how a negative action can lead to new and innovative ideas.

Furthermore, if parents or trainers keep commemorating a child’s achievements and positive deeds, while ignoring the negative actions, he/she will not be able to judge between right and wrong and thus, will create a false idea that “every action is positive”. Not taking in account the negative actions, filibusters a learning mind of child and hence, such a child will lack an ability to justify and tackle arduous and challenging situations.

Even, a simple mathematical equation elucidates the fact that when two ‘negatives’ are added, yields a ‘positive’. Likewise, when negative actions are contemplated and worked upon, results ultimately in salubrious positiveness.

Some might argue that considering negative actions also might result to diffidence and hence, can discourage someone from learning. Yet, they discount that a role of teacher is to corroborate his students in every situation. Mulling a negative action in teaching will help a student to get a versatile knowledge and, hence bringing him out of his shell. The negative actions will facilitate his profound thinking, as a repercussion of which, a learner will gain experience and along with it more self-confidence.

In sum, I acknowledge that praising the positive actions are imperative but ignoring the second face of coin and overlooking the negative ones is not disinterested. The negative actions should be fairly considered along with the positive events. And, as Dayna Lovely said, “Even in the midst of the storm, the sun is still shining”, likewise, in spite of having negative actions, the knowledge will always keep burnishing like a sun.