The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and the women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

How to understand the character of a society? It has been a heated topic among the common citizens. The claims supports that the best way to realize the goal is to examine the character of the men and women it chooses as its heroes. Although the statement make some sense, it overlooks other important aspects and attribute too much to role models. Therefore, I could not agree with it much.

The heroes or role models are certainly chosen on criteria of principles of social morality, which are seen as the pioneers in moral area. I concede that they could represent the realistic goals of a society to a large degree. When we understand the spirit of Martin Luther King, we realize the pith of American dream such as equality and freedom; if we know more about Mahatma Gandhi and his non-cooperation activities, we get acquainted with the persistence and tolerance entrenched in Indian culture. Every nation has its distinct cultural pattern, which is usually marked significantly by the heroes they value most. Instead, if we look at other common and ordinary people in those societies, they may be likely to present a much uniform characters.

Although considering about the characters of the stars in one society sometimes render us quicker and easier accesses to the society itself, it brings about other problems as well. First is the common characters of almost all moral heroes: kind, brave, generous and so on. When comparing Confucius with Socrates, who were both great ancient philosophers, besides some differences on teaching patterns, we also discover more similarities of their experiences: both of whom were respectful scholars, seeking for the best way to establish a perfect country. Then there comes another question, are the moral heroes themselves impeccable? Of course not, everyone has his or her unique personality, which could not be generalized to a whole nation’s scale. so we have to make clear distinguish between the common features and the idiosyncratic ones on one person.

In addition, most time it is better for us to investigate more into the daily life of common citizens to get familiar with a society. Great people, despite of their high standard of moral qualities, are the examples of the mass----that is to say, many others are just looking up to them .In order to truly realize a society, one need not only watch its bright side, but also the dark side behind the surface. Social conflicts and problems arise in almost every society, by studying different forms of these tough issues, we could figure out a more clear picture of the society. Thus, instead of only concerning the models, we had better pay more attention to those negligible figures, especially those in the bottom of the society.

In sum, as a society consists many aspects, it is too hastily to assert that the best way to understand it is to examine the character of the heroes or role models. On the contrary, we need take on various angles and know more about people in different social classes. Only in a multidimensional view can we make a more justified evaluation on it.