Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action.

The issue that when assessing the morality of an action, if the outcome of good results are more than the bad one's then it is morally correct is a contentious one. Though both sides have their strengths and weaknesses, I believe the morality of an action not only depends on the results but also on the intention of the person doing the action.

Firstly, whenever we perform any action, if our reason for doing the action or in other words our intention behind it is benign and pristine, then we always undertake magnanimous ways to perform the action and thus the outcome of the action being good has very high chances.Thus an action here is considered moral as evil thoughts never came across the person's mind right from the start, during the course of the action and after the results.

Secondly, if we take an example of a rich businessman, who wants to give some charity to an orphanage. Now if he donates money or clothes or any material, without the notice of anyone around, then such a deed is a noble deed as the intention behind it was purely to be of some help to the young kids. But if the same person does this work infront of media, only to make some news then even if the outcome is positive it is against the morality of a person as even though he has donated but the intention behind it was only to gain publicity, such a deed is still considered immoral.

Furthermore, if we consider government employees in a country like India, it is their duty to crosscheck the documents or approve the documents to the higher authorities etc. But they will always delay the person's work till the person is tired and will offer him bribe to make his work done faster. Now, here if we see the outcome of him asking for money will be that work will be done but the debauchery behind it is bad. Thus again the intention of the employee is bad even if the outcome is good. This is another example of an immoral action due to evil intentions.

Some people may argue saying telling lies for a good reason is as good as telling the truth. But is it really so? Let's consider an example, if a soldier's mother has lost her son in the war and the officials are told by the son in advance not to inform his mother if he dies in the firings because on hearing the news she will die. Now in this case if the officials hide about her son's death from the mother is done for the betterment of the mother as she couldn't bear the loss. This action action can be considered moral.

In conclusion, I believe that the intention of a person performing the action ia above the outcome of the action performed. The reason being if the intention is good then it will have inner satisfaction of the good work and ignorance of the bad consequences of the action which will make the outcome also positive and thus the action can be considered morally correct.