Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim mentioned above seems partially appropriate and the reason given for this, in spite of appearing more logical than the claim, can be considered partially true. An excellent leader with powers to control, is very important to make a system run, be it an autocratic, a democratic, a communist country. While power is necessary to govern a society, a necessary check on powers provided to those in leadership becomes absolutely necessary, leading to a belief that new leaders should replace the old ones.

We can see in case of successful business organizations that is is not always important for people in authority to stop down rather their consistent guidance. Like, Reliance group in India which was established by Dhiru Bhai Ambani is now being run by his descendants is still going great in term of success. Sometimes a particular type of association needs a specific kind of vision and leadership and rather change of leadership can harm instead of benefitting.

In the field of education this claim may be agreeable to some extent and disagreeable in another. If we take example of a research lab running under the guidance of an old professor, who makes his team do very conventional work and discards innovative ideas if any. Such kind of leadership even by a highly experience individual will not do any good due to the fact that his skills and knowledge are obsolete. While the reverse can also happen, a professor working on cloning does not let his research staff innovate something that actually turns against humanity like a human clone. This way by exercising control an experienced person is playing his role as a leader well. It might be possible that a novice person would have encouraged such innovations at the cost of human life.

Therefore, it can be said that it is entirely situational and subjective.