Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The topic raises the controversial issue of whether any leader of an organization should not remain in power more than 5 five years. Effectively, the leader of each organization should be changed from times to times in order to revitalize the organization. Nevertheless, establishing the fixed time of 5 years is probably not correct. Thus, I would argue to assure the success of any organization, it is essential to change its leadership but the frequency at it should occur depends from case to case.

First of all, if some person stays in the leadership of an organization for too much time, they will probably become blinded by their power. As a consequence, they will try to earn more and more, without caring about the ones in the organization with less power. In addition, there are an increased chance for them to practice corruption.

Secondly, older leaders tend to do their jobs more routinely. On contrary, a new leader has always new ideas they want to implement and will see problems through another perspective. Therefore, there are a greater chance for a private enterprise to differentiate from others and become more lucrative or, in case of public organizations, there is an increased chance to get better solutions for population’s problems. For instance, whenever a new government is implemented, new reforms are also implemented, some of them being beneficial for the population.

Lastly, the amount of time of 5 years cannot be adequate to all situations. It depends primarily on the projects each leader wants to implement. 5 years can be too little time for someone who wants to construct another building for instance, but it can be too much if for example some private enterprise just want to try some new product. The amount of time each leader should spend in each organization depends on their projects because it does not make much sense to change leadership when some project is the middle of its execution. This is because the new leader will not probably understand all the older leader wanted to do and will not concretize the project efficiently. If it happens whenever the leadership changes neither project will be concretized efficiently. On the other hand, if one stays in the leadership more time than they really need there is the risk for the leader to be the most of their leadership doing not much new things that can make the enterprise successful.

In conclusion, it is very important to periodically change the leader of an enterprise in order to revitalize it. However, the number of years each leader stays in an enterprise should depend on the projects this person has in mind and it should not be fixed in five years.