Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This statement raises quite a controversial issue. Although it is impossible to negate that in some cases power being held for more than just five years by the same person, or group of people, can be beneficial to whatever enterprise is concerned, being this the case of longstanding leaders such as Steve Jobs, it should be noted that the occurrence of one of these outstanding individuals is all but anecdotic if compared to the vast majority of cases, where its outcome is usually not even close to adequate. Therefore, I strongly agree with the statement that is posed.

First of all, it is certainly relevant to bear in mind that this conundrum is not new; in fact, it has existed at least since the time of Ancient Greece. Indeed, there was a procedure, called ostracism, by which a longstanding leader could be removed from its position; it even went beyond just that: the individual had to actually abandon the city, the polis, for a certain amount of time. Being Ancient Greece one of the main pillars of today’s western society, the creators of democracy and one civilization that contributed greatly to the development of mankind from every perspective, it is safe to assure that they knew what they were doing.

In addition to what has been said, it should be noted that, as the proposed statement indicates, it is true that in order to revitalize an enterprise, new blood is needed. There are cases where change is needed because of the corruption of the former leaders; in Spain, my home country, the persistence of a single political party in some areas has lead to an unbearable increase in political corruption. There is not one single day when we are not reminded that some politician who had the power in an area for who-knows-how-long is being judged.

However true what has been addressed above might be, it is also important to consider those cases where the results of a longstanding leadership are just the opposite. Indeed, Steve Jobs was Apple’s head for many years, leading the company to success in a meteoric way.

In conclusion, although it is true that some outstanding individuals can hold power for long with great results, the fact that most of the times it happens just the other way around should be enough to assure there is a necessity to change our leaders as many times as needed.