Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author presents a claim that, "in any field- business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years". The claim is standing on the reason that success for an enterprise can be achieved by revitalization through new leaders. However, the author's claim and reason are rife with flaws. There are numerous factors that determine the success of any enterprise, like, experience of the leader , how well he understand the system and myriad of other factors. Simply, limiting the tenure of the leaders and inviting new leaders every time is not a very prudent decision.

To begin with, consider, the field of politics. Politics, being vital for nation is something that needs its leader to be sagacious. A person who is leading our nation and working for the entire country or for even a small state, needs to have good foresight of how his decision will impact the life of people. A policy made in slapdash manner without considering its implication on mass may even prove deleterious to people. For example, if an economic minister decides to increase the taxes on every product and reduce subsidy by promulgating that the money obtained from the tax can be used for constructing roads and other things needed for the nation, then, such policy will result in increase in price of the products and will surely increase the hardships of a common person. It vividly shows that the minister if don't have experience that there are myriad of factors that needed to be considered while making a decision, then such a leader may prove to be detrimental for the country. However, and experience person in such case will consider all the factors, dependencies involved and things that will be affected by his policy and then only will take a decision. Thus, experience play a vital role in some cases where a callow or a new person may fail.

Furthermore, frequent changes may lead to instability in some cases. A leader is the one who is guiding the people of entire system on which way to walk. Thus, people working or being a part of system will have more faith in their confidence if they know that their leader is right or the leader has proved his mettle sometimes. Any new leader or a callow may not have a very intense impact, unless in very rarest cases but a leader who's part of organization for long, will surely understand its people and similarly people will also have faith on him.

Additionally, in any system it is indispensable that its leader must have profound knowledge of it. . This is vital as the leader is the one who will guide the whole system. In some cases, like a software business, a leader of the company or CEO needs to have good knowledge of the technical market and its intricacies. He needs to know that technical market is very dynamic and people changes their taste and their needs also keeps changing. Such deep understanding of any field comes only on working with that field for a long time. A young leader in such cases may not be able to grasp these things and small points quickly as these things comes, only if, one spend some good time in the field.

To sum up, young leader may be lacking experience, profundity and are more prone to ignore small points that equally important while taking any decision. To contrast, an experienced leader have a wide range of view and may observe few things that a tyro may fail to see. Hence, the claim of author to curtail the tenure of leaders in any field to five years doesn't seems to be cogent