Claim: In any field – business, politics, education, government – those in power should step down after five years.Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

The statement claims that for an enterprise’s survival, changing the leadership from time to time-5 years perhaps- is effective to help itself in staying vital. From the political point of view, It is easy to find that lots of countries practicing democracy change their leaders and management teams in every few years. However, if we add in monarchies( constitutional monarchies excluded) and countries in dictatorship throughout centuries, it is not hard to find that democracies may be just inchoate with unproven stability. Furthermore, from the business perspective, there are much more companies or institutes with dictatorial leadership. It seems more salubrious and competitive for a company to stay in this way.

Changing leadership frequently sounds like a good method for an enterprise to revitalize itself. Like democracy, it always offers a sense of relief even if the worst people become president, the system will secure him to be ruled out some day. However, switching the leadership is a literally dangerous practice. For example, every time a company switches their leaders, it becomes unstable itself and results in the downfall of their stock prices. Incorporating new leaders usually accompanied with new implementations of rules, and new initiation of visions, which takes time for members to get accustomed to. Sometimes the new leaders may not be experienced enough and that will be even more consuming and dangerous for the company.

In addition, countries perform democracy may be guaranteed with fairness and probity, but not with competitiveness and survivability. One of the best advantages of democracy is that it gives everyone equal right, and better chances to assume higher positions. However, lots of countries with democracies out of expectations are actually poor and unstable. Especially in Africa, after World War Two, European left their colony, colonized countries followed their colonizer practicing democracy. Poor and unstable as newborn regimes, upheavals raised up everywhere, and most regimes later were replaced by some powerful dictators and military government. The phenomenon may be applied to other kinds of enterprises as well.

To sum up, it is possible to change leaders in an enterprise to revitalize itself, but it is also a dangerous act as well. Changing new leaders the enterprise becomes unstable and vulnerable to the environment and takes time and resources to pull itself back on the trail. Moreover, such act could create a fairness environment, but pose itself under the threat of losing competitiveness and basic survivability. Therefore, it is axiomatic to see most of the enterprises execute dictatorship throughout history.