“Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.”

Nowadays the importance of management and leadership in the success of any field are not hidden for anybody. The writer of the issue contends that individuals who are in power in any field should leave their position after five years. The writer further reasons that new leadership can guarantee the success of any enterprise. In what follows I will first discuss my response to the claim and then explain what I think of the reason on which the claim is based.

The claim suggests that the resignation of people who are in power in any field is necessary after five years. Although the new leadership can result in new merits – such as new ideas, better situations, the increase of motivation, and refreshed energy – this change cannot be practical for any field. Thus, I do not agree with this claim in all situations for some reason. One of these reasons is that sometimes changing the leader of a company not only can ruin good opportunities in that field, but also can lead to unrecoverable damages because of the lack of experience. Experience a “golden key” to success is the missing link in such companies with a new manager. Hence, is it logical to let the elimination of experiences that have gained over the years and not use them? Undoubtedly, an experienced leader is appreciable and he or she should not be step down immediately after five years. Another reason for my disagreement with the above claim is related to the time of resignation of a leader. Changing the principal, management, or leadership depends on many things, for example, the situation of a company, financial issues, and projects that are ongoing; therefore, this time depend on many things can be changed. Accordingly, despite the fact that new leadership can bring about of prospering in a field, the role of an experienced leader and the appropriate time for leaving a position should not be ignored.

The reason of the aforementioned claim is that new leadership can guarantee the success and prosperous of any enterprise. As far as I am concerned, however, it cannot be generalized to all enterprise. In addition, apart from leadership, there is a wide spectrum of factors, which can affect success. For instance, consider cooperation among employees in a team. It is like a chain in which everybody should do their responsibility in an accurate manner in order for a team, related to any field, to be successful. If one of them does not pay attention to the purpose of their team, this chain cuts and success cannot achieve even with a new leadership. As a result, considering only the one factor--that is new leadership--never can be a guarantee for success.

In conclusion, I should say that achieving success in any field and for any enterprise just by considering different elements and factors which are related to that process is possible. Although among these factors a new leadership is of great importance, success and flourish cannot be confined only to that. Moreover, finding the appropriate time for this change is another important factor which should be considered.