Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Fact is the information derived after the careful evaluation of the premises. Hence, anything can be considered as fact once there is evidence to believe in its authenticity. The claim suggests that information referred to as a fact should not be trusted because it will be proved false in the future. In my opinion, I do not agree with the recommendation because of the following reasons.

First, the reason states that people assume most of the information as factual will be proven inaccurate in the future. Indeed, we cannot trust any random information as it is evident that there is no reasoning given to prove random information. We must ensure the validation of the presented information through careful scrutinization before confirming it. If we believe in any specious information, it is likely to be proved wrong in the future. For example, many years ago, people believed that the earth is in the center and sun is revolving around it, without asking for the evidence. The assumption proved unwarranted when some scientists proved using the logical explanation that the sun is in the center and earth is revolving around it. Since then, no one question the validity of the latter fact because it proved using the logical explanation which cannot be denied. The above example demonstrates that the spurious information without logical evidence should be mistrusted, but people should trust on the fact which is derived from the logical and valid explanation.

Furthermore, if we mistrust all the facts just because it can be proved false in the future, humans cannot develop. As human beings, we can think intellectually and prove the present phenomena right or wrong, which helps us in development. For many years, scientists presented many theories and proved their validation, in the development of the latter theory, scientists use the formal proven theory. It may happen that a particular theory will be nullified in the future because it consists of certain logical fallacies or unproven assumptions due to a lack of data. However, it is not feasible to assume that every fact will be proven wrong in the future. Hence, it is essential to trust the previously proven facts for human development; otherwise, humans would remain stuck on one point and never be able to grow as it is today. For example, Newton proves the theory of gravitational force and presented that each element has gravitational force according to their mass. Some of the newton theories proved false because Newton assumed it and did not provide the data needed. However, if no one had believed him and reject his gravitational theory, then maybe there is no space exploration possible today. Nevertheless, people trusted his theory and used it as the primary background in solving other complex problems, which drastically enhanced human life. Like, using newton's third law and measuring the earth's gravitational law, we can launch the rockets in space. The above example illustrates that the proven facts can be trusted and should not be rejected just because it may be unwarranted.

All things considering, we can say that any assumed factual pieces of information are likely to be proven wrong in the future because it is based on the unproven assumption rather than calculated logic. However, the logical and scientifically proven facts remain valid in the future as it is derived from the calculated logic. Hence, we should always trust the proven facts.