Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Any society lionizes a person it believes has brought opulent recognition, upliftment or progress of its stature. The achievements of the role models reveal the potential of a society, the ideals and moral scruples of the people being followed, tells us about the proclivities of the followers. In general, because the choice of role models represent the collective ideology of the society, the best way to understand the character of a society lies in studying the characters deified or veneated by the society.

To begin with, the nature of the contributions reveal the potential of the society as a whole. Throughout the world, human beings have a general propensity to stereotype one whole society by observing the deeds, or achievement of a few. While many a times these typecasts are prone to be irrational and unjustified, yet they do hold good in some cases. There indeed are societies across the planet who are good at accomplishing certain typical feats. For instance, the fact that some of the most famous atheletes in the world hail from Russia, like Maria Sharapova, Anastasia Fesikova and so on, is a clear indication of the penchant, capacity and hence the popularity of sports in the Russian societies. The fact that these atheletes are venerated and lauded in their countries reveals the innate sport-loving character of their native societies. Another example can be of the host Indian-origin CEOs of famous IT companies, like Sunder Pichai of Google, Satya Nadela of Microsoft, etc. These people are role models for lakhs of aspiring youths in the country and these major feats of success by Indians in the IT sector reveals the progressive, competent nature of the Indian society.

Furthermore, The progress of the society’s ideologies, the outlook is represented through its heroes, or idols. Worshipping a fallacious doctrinaire having a constrained and fallacious outlook of the world, is a tell-tale of how conservative the society is. In contrast, hailing an all-embracing, secular person tells us that the society is egalitarian and that it is accomodating in character. For example, when the Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau extended a whole hearted welcome to Syrian refugees when the rest of the world shunned them, it demonstrated the tolerance and the open-mindedness of the Canadian governance and the society that elected such a forward-looking leader as their Prime Minister.

However, not all ‘heroes’ reflect the collective proclivities or tastes of the society. For instance, when tawdry movie celebrities, parochial politicians, radical preachers, and showy, ostentatious business tycoons are idolized by a section of the mob, it seldom represents the aggregate penchant of the society. For instance, Pakistan is a country that provides a safe haven for most wanted terrorists like Laden, but also produces the world’s youngest Nobel Peace Prize winner. On one hand it might seem, from the heinous terror attacks designed from the country’s soil, as though the Pakistani society in general favours extremism and possesses a doctrinal approach towards life. However, it is from the same society that peace lovers like Malala Yousoufzai and democracy proponents like Benazir Bhutto had emerged and been victorious. Therefore, one cannot simply look at a particular section of the Pakistani crowd that eulogizes radical millitants, because there happens to be a greater proportion of the society that idolizes the likes of Malala and Benazir. Hence studying only one type of hero or role model might present a wrong picture of a society. Any study on the character of the heroes, must be based on whether the character in question is loved by the majority of the society or is it only a few toady followers that lionizes the same.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments above I am of the opinion that the character of role models mirrors that of the society’s. However, while studying these very role models, it must be the due consideration to emphasize on the collective conception of the society regarding the person concerned. The study should not be circumscribed to include the opinions of a select few, because then the study itself will be biased.