Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

The topic states here that character and morals of society is best understood by studying the character of heroes and its role models. Indisputably, role models and heroes are made by people, no one can establish one self on own that he/she is hero or role model of their society. This characteristic is defined by people. Nevertheless, in some cases heroes and role models not perfectly represents its their society. Thus, generally I disagree with the statement that characters of society is best understand by their ideals, and would like to argue that in many cases there are possibilities that all the good faces and role models not perfectly defines the society.

First of all, definition of role models and heroes have changed drastically over period of time. In past,people try to admire those people who achieved respect by doing kind and great work. In present, people make role model out of either from some actor or actress or from sports person who achieved great achievement in their respective field. This new definition of role model is quiet unappropriate as it stands. People try to emulate them and give title as a role model, but they do not know that they are not making any kind heart person or any other person. In today, everyone in public is different and in alone is different. So, this definition of role model heroes do not perfectly describes the mindset of society.

Furthermore, heroes and role models are being overhyped by media. In this fast changing society of social networking, any news about anything spread like virus. So, if anyone make anyone role model without even thinking about what he/she want to achieve in their life. And this overhyped role models are made even bigger by social media. Today, mostly role model of people are either any sports person or any celebrity. This is spreading widely across all over the wold. There can be possibilities that any one of this never ever have done anything for their society.

Moreover, many real heroes are being left unnoticed due to lack of popularity or due to media biases. In this case, it can be possible that the one which should get respect is left unnoticed. And people get disheartened by them. And will try to emulate the success of people like sports person or any other celebrity. The one who perfectly defines society's ideal is left unnoticed. And this not only the case but, there are lots more cases that definition of ideal is being changed and this not perfectly defines the society.

In conclusion, heroes or role models certainly have effect over people's mindset, but they do not perfectly defines society's mindset. There are possibilities that over media support can gain any person popularity but that person is not perfect role model. So, mindset of people is not defined by the role models or heroes but it defines by their own self.