Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

To understand the character of people in the society, it is important to learn about role modals of the society. It is unwonted that people look towards the heros, who has done great job for the welfare of society or the sacrificed for society. People use characters of hearos as examples and inspire themselves or their children to be like them. Thus, heros of society does represent high ideals of society.

Lets take example of silicon valley of USA. Most of the famous tech geeks born and brought up in cities of silicon valley, such as Steve Jobs Apple inc CEO, Mark Zakanbarg Facebook CEO. People of silicon valley use these names to motivate themselves and want to become like them. It is obvious that when people like someone and accept him as a role modal, they want to know more about them and try to follow their habits. Therefore, it is not surprising people in silicon valley choose computer science as major and dream to become tech geeks. If we study character of these role modals, we can get an overall idea about society's character.

Let take a look of holistic city of India, Banaras. Banaras has most of many famous temples, and many spritual leaders bron or spent their like in this city. If we visit this city, we will see majority of people want to become spritually inclined, and they choose spritual leaders of the city as their gurus'. Even people from outside country , who like to progress in spritual journey prefer to visit Banaras and meet any guru. It makes much more cogent that by looking at the charaters of those role modals, we can get idea what people of this city are, and what they are willing to be in future.

On the other side, the presented recommnedation can't be accepted all in all as there are always some exceptions. No doubt people love to follow their role modals, but they may take exceptions of bad habits of their role modals. For example, Steve Jobs was very furious and very prompt to yell on people. Now people for whom he is role modal mostly don't want to be short temper like him, may be they just want to be successfull like him. In this case, by only examining role modals charater, will not give right idea of character of men or women in socity.

In conclusion, It is beneficial idea to study role modals as they represent highest values of society, but also considering exceptions of their not good habits and talk to people what actually they follow in the role modal will give better understanding.