Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Upto last decade, the scenario of career of youths in most of the countries was not in a good condition. They were bombarded by the expectations of their elders and society to choose a career which was considered to be "worthy". In reality, the people who unwillingly choose goals or are forced to choose show signs of failure in the coming future. Nowadays youths often receive advice to follow their own dreams rather than being a sheep who follows the herd.

Things don't happen unless you dream. One should be passionate and focussed in life and should choose his/her own goal in life. The most important goal of one's life should be to do what you love. Even if it's not considered worthy, one must not deter from one's goal. Happiness is the most important achievement in life. If you don't love your goal because someone else has just forced you to do it the results will be disastrous. Consider an example of the legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar. Imagine if his parents had asked him to leave cricket and focus on studies. Imagine him being an Engineer. Would he have been successful as he is right now? Absolutely not! He is what he is because he followed his own dreams.

Dreams don't come true unless you do. If one has to be successful in life one has to follow his own dreams. There is no such thing as worthy goals or worthless goals. Modelling or acting might not be a worthy goal for some people in India. Amitabh Bacchan, Rajnikanth, Shahruk khan, etc are Indian bollywood stars. Had they been stopped by their parents to pursue career in acting they wouldn't be successful as they are now. Some Indian Parents have a mentality that girls should choose worthy careers like doctor, engineering or law and Sports and athletics are not meant for women. Mary Kom, P.T Usha, Saina Nehwal and many more are some of the outstanding Indian sports persons who not only followed their goals but also excelled in their careers.

As mentioned earlier, no goal is classified as good or bad, selfish or selfless. If following your goal is making you happy,giving you satisfaction, making you successful then why should we let others interfere and hinder our success and growth. No work is superior or inferior; work to excel;don't run behind success. If you love what you do success will surely follow you. One should keep following their own dreams because one day or the other they come true.