Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

One should pursue his/her dreams relentlessly, this is a popular jargon that pervades these days. There can be variety of dreams given the myriad variety of human thoughts. But, what is the whole purpose of a dream, if it serves nothing to human mankind. Hence, the dreams should be worthy enough. Hence, emphasis should be place on picking worthy dreams. Dreams being inherently selfish may not be the only reason to emphasize on the worthiness of the dream.

Its good to follow what one truly wants in life, but, emphasis should be given on the worthiness of one's goal. While, one should be given the latitude to think about what he/she wants to do, what one does should be warranted and should help the society in one or the other way.Even if it does not help the society, it should not harm the society. Hence, emphasis should be given on the worthiness of the goals.For instance, a young teenager told that he wants to become a Mafia when he was asked about his ambition in life. This surely is a matter of concern. Someone should emphasize on the worthiness of his dream. As one can infer, the teenager's dream was not only selfish but also a serious threat to the society.

Selfishness to some extent is good, but, if selfishness goes beyond morality, whatever one does becomes immoral.

Although, emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals, peoples' selfishness should not be the only reason.