Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

In the age where countless people are succumbing to work pressures, often culminating into suicides, it wouldn't be wrong to point fingers at the stressful work environments that the modern world has gifted us with. In face of this, the popular adage to "follow your dreams" is a wise way to go. In fact, it would be beneficial for the society at large if we can foster such ideas right from childhood.

Given the fact that suicide from work stress plagues countries across the globe, the onus for such provoking people to such a great extent certainly rests on the work pressure. And considering that we spend nearly one-third of our day in offices, slogging to meet the deadlines and striking deals, it may very well be assumed that our work starts to define our lives and even our nature. A stressful work environment may often percolate into a surly temperament or even depressive tendencies. More so, the manner in which we interact with others, the choices we make in our lives are also often controlled by our work environment. Thus, when we realise the phenomenal affect our work exerts on our daily lives, it is certainly a well guided idea to follow our dreams and spend our lives working on something we really love and truly believe in.

Following one's dreams allows oneself to avoid the work-burnout, and subsequently results in lower burden on the healthcare infrastructure which is already burdened by increasing patients plagued by other non-stress related conditions. Further, doing what we love is not just about evading stress, but also about leading more meaningful lives where we can believe that our every effort towards our work is a step towards a more fulfilling life. Thus, in many cases, pursuing our dreams is also about feeling complete at even the spiritual level. In addition, a happy person will also be more productive, subsequently contributing more towards the economy. This may serve to be greatly advantageous for the developing and the under-developed nations, which are striving to meet a minimal level of development, reflective of national prosperity. Further, the worthiness of any goal is defined by the individual themselves and not the society.

Though such advice to follow one's dream is always given in a good stead, it however at times may not really give the desirable results. This is specifically in case in which people's dreams, though may be selfish, are also destructive to the society. Such may be the case of drug cartel runners, traffickers or terrorists who blinded by their vices, push their dreams to become morally corrupt and a challenge for the society. But, here also, it is important to examine the claim that whether it is dreams to become rich which are selfish or is it the circumstances in which they are raised compels them to move towards a destructive path? A general analysis indicates that human nature is mouldable and the negative tendencies in human behaviour is circumstantial, resulting again fro stressful environments. This brings us full circle to major contributor of stress, which turns out to be our work, or our parents work or the work performed by the people we live with.

Therefore, in an effort to lead happier and fruitful lives, it would be advantageous for the society at large to follow their dreams in order to avoid stress (since stress is the major contributor to everything not right in this ephemeral human life).