Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I agree with the claim that governments must ensure that major cities are given financial support they need in order to thrive. However disagree to a certain extent with the reason that it is primarily in the cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated. A nation's culture and traditions represent the way of life of that particular nation. Normally it shows us the kind of life that the nations has, what they believe and their values.

I agree with the claim that the governments need to provide the financial needs of a city for it to strive. For the city to be developed there is need for finances to be available. For example if a city needs a bigger hospital, a new shopping mall or a new school they need money for the new buildings, the need money for equipment. Therefore, there is need for financial support for a city to thrive, that support can come from donors or from the government.

Inasmuch as i agree with the claim that the cities need financial support from the government for them to thrive i do not agree with the reason that the author has put to support the claim. Looking at major cities of late they do not represent the actual nation's cultural traditions. The major cities have been mordenized for example in Zimbabwe if we look at the major cities Harare and Bulawayo. This cities do not reflect the real Zimbabwean culture. Their way of living has been diluted and influence by other cultures.This could be due to the fact that there are some people who have come from different cultures or maybe the people have been exposed to other cultures.

I believe it is the small towns that have preserved and generated the nation's cultural traditions. For example in Zimbabwe the small town like Victoria Fall, Mapoto Chimanimani to name a few,thus were you get the true Zimbabwean cultural feel. These small towns have preserved the Zimbabwean culture.

In conclusion, the i agree with the claim that the major cities need financial support for them to thrive. However i do not agree with the reason to support the claim that in major cities the nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.