Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Culture composes a legacy of a nation, which breeds characters and perceptions of every individual generations by generations. Culture can generate traditions as the time passes by. Culture traditions can be reckoned as a hallmark of a country and international face left in the memories of other countries’ people. The culture traditions in a nation primarily leave in countryside, therefore, governments should ensure consistent financial aids for preservation and development of the cultural traditions in rural areas. Major cities should be aided financially because of their governmental function instead of protecting a nation’s culture traditions.

Culture traditions are mainly kept in countryside rather than major cities. Taking a look at a major city, it reminds people of skyscrapers, financial headquarters with the hustle and bustle of every corner with iron-faced commuters. Most major cities are in the same situation. Because economic progress has decolored indigenous traits, culture traditions are almost replaced by cosmopolitan metropolises. In the contrary, rural areas still developed so slowly that most traditions can still be alive in lives of people in countryside. For example, Amish people is the unique tribe with religious belief who are untouched to all convenience in modern today. They do not use electric lights and reject to consumerism and materialism, no driving cars and using cellphone, but plant for own survival in the long lifetime. This lifestyle is unbelievable in the eyes of people in cities, let alone in major cities. Therefore, this traditional culture should be maintained by government because they have not served people and had no incomes. Therefore, governmental aids are being achieved by endorsement and publicity of their lifestyles, projecting tourism to attract more tourists for higher incomes for local Amish people. Thanks to tourism prosperity governments initiated, they can maintain more affluent level than ever.

Besides, some handcraft techniques still remain in rural areas, therefore, governments should offer a hand to preserve the tradition as a substantial national treasure. For descendants to hand in and pass on the workmanship, this mission will load on the government’s shoulder. For example, Chinese embroidery is the typical crafts generated during the past thousands of years in rural areas of Jiangsu Province. The preservation still be in the rural areas till now. The local Governments are emphasizing on the propaganda and publicity to show their special regional manifestation compared with other places. The financial support includes releasing advertisement in major cities’ subway, internet and TV, which has enlarged the popularity and recognition in rural districts of Suzhou and Hangzhou embroidery derived. Exhibits all over the country are held with the cooperation of local governments and other cities’ governments.

Although big cities still exist a lot of a national heritage such as emperor castles or traditional art such as musical plays from the Broadway or Peking opera of Beijing, they constitute a small portion in all traditional culture of a nation. Therefore, National financial assistance should be offered to the rural areas where there exist diverse alive traditional cultures. Certainly, governments should sponsor major cities, it is not because of existence of national traditional culture, but because of enhancement of infrastructure such as maintenance of museums and galleries, governmental affairs, the operation of public schools, raising civil servants, and so on, consolidating international face in front of other countries’ people.

Therefore, a nation’s cultural traditions are in rural areas such as the age-old lifestyles and handcrafts, consequently, national aids are surely necessary to preserve the heritages with history of hundreds or thousands of years. Governments should assist major cities, as the representative of a nation, because infrastructure needs to be improved instead of preservation of cultural tradition.