Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The above statement claims that governments must ensure that their major cities receive financial support they need in order to thrive. It is said that the reason for this is that it is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated. The claim is somewhat reasonable but the reason given is totally fallacious.

It is completely agreeable to provide major cities the financial support they require as they are the major hubs of scientific and industrial development of the nation. It is their where all the inventions and discoveries take place. All the major universities are also situated at these cities, so all the important research work also takes place there. Other than this, it is the major cities where the largest organizations of a country functions. In the global scenario, these cities are the face of a country. So if these cities thrive, it is reflected directly in the socio-economic status of the country. So, it is prudent to support them financially.

However, the reason provided to support the claim is not feasible. To say that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated in major cities is completely misleading and untrue. There are several examples to contradict the said statement. Consider the cities of India like New Delhi and Bombay. The culture of these cities is very much similar to any other major city of the world. The people residing here wear western clothes and speak fluent English. They are very much accustomed with international brands and food chains. They lead an urbanized and westernized life style. So in order to understand the Indian culture and traditions, Mumbai or New Delhi should be the last choice.

The true culture of a nation dwells and flourishes in its small towns and villages. Hence, it is necessary to provide financial support to these hubs of traditional hubs as well. It is observed that many villages in the developing nations like India are extremely deprived of even most basic facilities like clean water and electricity. What is required is sustainable and equivocal management of government funds in order to ensure the complete development that is, on global as well as traditional fronts of the nation.

Hence, it would be right to agree with the claim and the governments of the nations should provide financial support to major cities and ensure their steady and sustainable growth and development. However, the reason fails to provide an appropriate support to the claim; it is still advisable to ensure the preservation of cultural traditions of a country as well by investing in the development of the small towns and villages.