Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

According to the author, major cities of a nation preserve and generate the nation's cultural traditions, and that is why government should make sure that these cities are given their much needed financial support regarding this cause. The proposal to generate fund for preserving national traditions is worthy of laud. Every nation has its own culture that significes the country in greater extent. But to claim that it only major cities should be considered for taking further steps is a bit extreme. And I do not agree with the author's rationalization.

For any country, cultural traditions is a part of its soul. And every possible steps should be taken to preserve its essence. It is true that the major cities play a vital role in representing its traditions. But the major cities are not the only ones who work tirelessly to preserve and generate their cultural traditions. For every country, most of the people do not live in the major cities only. And in every country, every city of the country hold some significant traditions that are equally part of the nation.

Let's take India for example. If we consider the major cities of India; we get Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata and may be one or two more cities. According to the author these cities try to preserve the nation's culture. And that is true. But are they the only ones who practice the cultural tradition of the nation? Or are they superior in practicing than any other city in practicing their traditions? For a country as India, where there are somewhat 27 languages spoken by its people; we can assume how diverse its cultural traditions would be. In this case, the government should make its decision on the basis of thorough observation. Whether only major cities play a role in preserving their traditions or other cities take part in the matter too should be considered by the government. And if the government makes the decision in accord with the author's reasoning and focus only for the cultural development of Delhi and Mumbai and neglect other cities, people might be deprived of many other traditions of India which might not be in practice there, but is in abundance in smaller cities of the country. And if the government do not try to help the other cities in order to preserve their ethnical traditions, these practices might be lost. And the bigger loss would be for the country.

The government should do in their position to support the minor cities financially to thrive also. By doing so, not only they would preserve their traditions, they can help the economy too. The cities which are culturally rich but financially deprived; with the help from government they can bolster their practice and it is possible to attract tourists. And if the government takes interest in the matter, private sectors will hopefully come forward too.

In conclusion, while it would be a great approach from government to give financial support for further development of the nation's cultural tradition, it would not be wise to only include major cities in consideration. The government should make an informed decision. The government should not make any decision on the conjecture that major cities are only responsible and capable of preserving their tradition. The government must evaluate other cities' contribution in the matter too before making any final decision.