Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

One of many governmental duties is to oversee and distribute collected funds for the overall well-being of its country. It must prioritize the most beneficial services and program. Giving major cities financial support for the purpose of preserving the nation’s cultural traditions would pull money from other programs and not necessarily address the core cause.

A major city could be failing due to many factors. Crime, economic hardship, poor leadership can all contribute to a downfall of a major city. An increase in financial support many not directly solve these problems. One example is the city of Detroit, where high crime rates hobble city development and tourism. Without a plan to address the root cause, financial support --- much like painkillers--- would only mask the problem and keep it hidden in the background where it festers until there is no choice but to amputate.

While money is being pumped into the city, it is being drained from elsewhere. Local and federal governments must redirect funds in order to provide to the city. These subsidies would be taken from governmental funds dedicated to programs like social security, education, food stamps, road work, and health care. And if the central problem is not addressed, these programs would be drained for years and potential decades.

A nation’s cultural traditions can be preserved and generated outside major cities. For many, traditions are formed from villages and neighborhood rather than the major metropolitans. Take for example a major American city: New York city. The traditions commonly found here derive from the many different backgrounds of its inhabitants. Cultures like Chinese, Italian, Korean, French and much more are brought from all around the world where it combines to become the ‘New York City” experience. Thus, New York City itself is not a requirement, but rather the homelands and areas that its inhabitants originate from.

Providing financial aid for failing major cities would drain money from other governmental programs and services. A nations cultures can be preserved and derived elsewhere.