Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Major cities are important centers of each country. They are more influential and beneficial rather than small cities. Some people believe that providing financial support for major cities should be government’s priority if it want the country to thrive; others disagree. In my view, the major cities not only are generating the nation’s cultural traditions but also can preserve and extend them.

First, the universities which are vital source generating new cultural traditions. In most of countries, the most prestigious universities are placed in major cities. For example, the city Tehran has five big universities. Young people from all around the country come to these cities each year in order to study, then, after graduating, they will return to their cities. These people will transfer new cultures to the areas they already lived. Therefore, the generated traditions in universities will be distributed effectively.

Second, a major city is a good paragon for small cities and villages. If they establish a new custom, other cities will follow them instantly. If the country wants to create a new method such as how to consume electricity well, it should put its effort on major cities because it would be more effective. The government just must persuade people living in these cities, then, people living in other cities follow them.

In addition, the important cities of each country are the economic and cultural centers of that country. It is better to pay more attention to these centers rather than other areas. For examples, there are many big factories producing major needs of all people around the country in the cities Isfahan and Mashhad. These products will be distributed in the country and some of them will export. Therefore, if the government primarily try to support the financial needs of these areas, it is helping other areas as well.

In sum, some people may think that the government must support all areas at the same time, but I think that the government should primarily pay attention to its important centers. Not only this will be beneficial to the all country but it would be more influential.