Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is popularly believed that major cities ought to be supported by government financially because nation's cultural traditions are preserved and accumulated in those metropolises. Although I concur with the necessity to ensure well-being of major megalopolises, I disagree with the reason owing to the fact that as far as I am concerned, nation's culture is preserved and generated in small towns and villages not in big cities. The reason of my stance will be discussed in details below.

To begin with, there is a plethora of reason for government to support its major megalopolises via money. Perhaps, the most conspicuous reason is that those cities are economic engines which generate a lion share of national GDP. In fact, headquarters of multinational corporations are situated in such cities as New York, Los Angeles, Tokyo and Moscow. Those firms pay tens of millions in taxes and create millions of jobs as well. Furthermore, major cities are hallmarks which create state's image in the world and from this viewpoint, it is crucial to invest money to reassure that the world sees the pretty and friendly image which attracts investors' money. Those are only two of many other reasons for supporting major cities. However, may we claim that ability of those cities to generate and preserve national culture is one of those reasons?

Perhaps, the answer on this question is "no" because although new culture is indeed generated in the cities, the culture is mainly nationless and cosmopolitan. The reason of this situation probably may be found in living conditions of those metropolises. In fact, those cities are home for millions of people who have distinct background, belong to different cultures and nations. All of them have to co-exists and work in those urban areas. In order to be able to work efficiently those residents have to absorb novel, cosmopolitan culture and abandon their own national traditions. However, where does nation's culture is generated and preserved if there is no room for them in the cities?

The answer on the question is "rural areas and small towns". Those areas are not exposed to direct impact of outsiders and local people tend to preserve old traditions. For instance, many towns in Russia as well as in the USA have traditions of organizing local holidays and festivals which reflect their heritage and mores. Local residents often associate themselves with the nation and its traditions and pass on them to their progeny. Moreover, in some removed and secluded areas people live by ancient traditions which do not change for centuries. Consequently, to ensure that nation's culture is preserved and generated it is important to support financially those small towns and villages. The financial support may encourage people to stay in those towns and give more opportunities to local governors to promote nation's traditions.

In conclusion, although major cities should be supporter because of many reason, perhaps, the preservation and generation of nation’s culture is not one of them. In fact, the culture is created and preserved in small villages and towns which ought to be supported financially in order to guarantee the well-being of national traditions and culture.