Claim: Imagination is a more valuable asset than experience.

Reason:People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible without the constraints of established habits and attitudes.

The claim asserts that imagination is more valuable wealth than experience in that without the constraint of established habits and attitudes, people are more free to imagine. I concede that the reason stands to some ground, but the assumption which the conclusion based on is under question and thereby undermine its critical point.

As is acknowledged by all, experiences could form a stereotype of thinking ,restraining people’s range of minds by preconceived regulations. Compared to the older people, the young are more likely to take risky actions and make innovations. For example, Marc Zuckerberg established facebook at college and becomes a billionaire at his thirties, John Nash founded the theory of Nash equilibrium at his twenties. Many great people won the applause of the whole world by virtue of their evolutionary ideas, which are often hard for those middle-aged to come up with. Many reasons may account for this phenomenon, while the incorrigible habits and formulated thinking mode are certainly indispensable factors.

However, experiences work more practically in most people’s lifetime. Only after you experience numerous ups and downs in your life can you keep calm towards whatever happen to you. In addition ,people’s wisdom possibly comes more from experiences rather than empty imagination, especially for those who are good at summarizing them. The old may learn a lot from their past glories as well as failures, after they retired, they retrospect back their ways and figure out some principles or laws of life---all that become a valuable wealth which is more, at least the same as the imagination may contribute to human’s progress.

Some may argue that experiences do more harm because they constrain people’s minds and spurn potential innovations. Indeed, some experiences taught the older people to stop probing into one question since it seems useless, while the fact sometimes proves quite the opposite. However, we could not thus undermine its value; without the former experiences, it is more difficult for us to keep on seeking right answers. Even the great genius, Einstein, established the relativity theory based on the experiences of the earlier scientists such as Newton. As a matter of fact, experiences, whether or not from others or ourselves, serve better to pave the way for new discoveries and innovations instead of stifling them. Great minds are edified, not constrained by those experiences.

In sum, the claim may be too assertive to attach more importance on the function of imagination, despite that it is true that the defects of experiences sometimes negate the benefits of imagination. Nevertheless, most time experience overweight imagination, taking comprehensive aspects into consideration.