Claim : The importance of multidisciplinary education is overrated in today's times.

Reason : Education should be focused on preparation for a specific career path and thus students should be encouraged to only pursue a single area of study.

I agree with the claim but the reason provided for support of the claim is according to me is wrong. To understand the topic, first of all we need to know what is multidisciplinary education? Why is it necessary? It is explained in following subsequent paragraphs.

So, the multidisciplinary education is like a certain student is working in a museum, so he/she needs to place things according to their history. For that, he needs to know history briefly so that he can explain it to the tourists who visit to the museum. He needs to have the good communication skills to explain all the historical events interestingly. Also, he needs to know the archeology to understand the fossils of the Dinosaurs or any other extinct animal species. So, the multidisciplinary education is the education in which a person needs to know all subsequent information about the related fields. For example, there are very less number of people who might know that the refrigerators and air conditioners are made by the mechanical engineer, but for the design he might not only need to know the mechanical related terms, he should know the terms related to electronics so that he can make a refrigerator or air conditioner with higher efficiency.

As reason states, if the education is focused only on a specific career path and also the student is forced to pursue a single area of study, then the person might not be the work effectively. For example, the previous mechanical engineer is working on the design of the refrigerator, so for the every small changes he needs to call the another expert in the electronics engineering, which is very expensive for the nations like US where the manpower is very less. But, it can be fairly good for the nations like the India where the manpower is abundant.

In the conclusion we can say that the multidisciplinary education is important in today's times. But, the education should not be focused on preparation for a specific career path and should not force students to only pursue a single area of study.