Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

This topic raises a contoversial issue whether, knowing about the past can help in making decisions in present, or rather that it does not helps in making important decisions today. Indisputably, there are some important decisons that are supposed to be made today which does not have any connection with the past and so, they does not helps in making better decisions in the current. Nevertheless, there are many occurences where the past experience guides us for the proper decisions to make today. Thus, I generally agree that the past experiences helps us making decisions in the present.

Firstly, the events that occurs in our day to day life are generally a format that we follow regularly. To illustrate this further, let us take an example of the schedule of a child who goes to school regularly, does his homework regularly and follow the some routine almost everyday. Therefore, now the child must be habituated with that and must be absolutly sure from the past experiences about to follow his schedule regularly. This can also be applied in the other important decisions that we make in our life, the past guides us about the mistakes that we made at that time, just so, we don't repeat them in the present.

Also, the reason provided by the author for his contention is that people are cloudy with the past and present and that does not helps in making decision. There must be some distant and we must be able to assess both the conditions lucidly. However, this reason of the author is indefensible in a way that people are not able to make distant. To understand it better, take an example of Steve Jobbs, who was removed from the company he created. Therefore, when the next time he took care about not repeating the past mistakes and kicked them out.

Considerably, there are many decisions in which the past does not helps much, because it is a completely new venture the one is pursuing and there is no account of such event in his past. So, that is the point where past does not helps. But, the inference of the past always stays with the person and highlights his path. Also, the occurences of the past can sometimes be the memories, or the slight pleasures that you had which makes your life zealous.

To sum it, the statement that the past occurences does not helps in making current decisions is indefensible. On the contrary, the overwhelming evidences shows that the past occurences helps in making the current decisions for the better good. Thus, untill some specific measures are provided, or some cases are considered the conclusion that the past occurences helps in determining the current decision holds credit.