Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

People’s ideas are so diverse and making consensus between all people of a society is not possible for every decision. This is where governments take shape. A minority of people take both power and responsibility in the form of a government. This minority emerges to decide and administer decisions among same people they have come from. Policy choices must take into account the interests of the whole society. Every member of a society concerns about his/her own interests. Therefore, an overarching decision needs to be taken by those who are cognizant and responsible for the interests of the whole society.

The statement’s claim and reasoning thus hold true; based on the fact that politicians are more informed than public, decisions should be left to politicians. Every political determination has its own pros and cons that should be considered comprehensively before taking it. Consider the entrance of Chinese merchandise into a country. As the salary of the workforce is low in China, industries’ productions are cheaper in there than other countries. The total price of a product is lesser and people of other countries can meet their needs by buying Chinese stuff as they are economic. At the same time, national production in other countries will suffer mainly because of Chinese imports, to the point of bankruptcy. So many of people will become unemployed and the wheel of production in nations will stop working. It is due to correct verdict to both provide cheaper imported products for people and save the national productions. Those who decide on such a verdict needs to consider the interests of the whole society, which requires expertise.

However, people should not be kept away from the policy-making process integrally. People’s influence should be conveyed via voting system and choosing appropriate representatives who indirectly take decisions for the people.

The main reason for public participation is that the governing system should always remain subordinate to the people. People should have a parliament to question their authorities via their representatives. This balances the power not to be tilted in favor of few ruling individuals. We see that by interpellation people do not allow the ministers to take decisions with exemption from punishment, and ministers are required to be answerable to representatives of the people. Otherwise, as centuries of governmental corruption asserts, the ruling system becomes corrupted.

In short, Major policy choices should always be ceded to politicians. This is because of the more information political experts possess about the impact of implementing such determinations on every member of the society. Nevertheless, to balance the power, people should be involved indirectly through suffrage; the people’s representatives should be empowered to be able to question the decision-makers in order to avoid corruption.