Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Laws serve as the backbone of the judicial system of any society.They serve to fulfill the goal of equality for all. But,not in all cases are they in congruence with the actual problems and may sometimes compel one to go against his mind or his heart.

To support my point ,lets take an example of a divorce case which ,according to the court favors the mother, allowing her to take responsibility of her children and the father has to give a large chunk of his property also.It may be possible that the judgement is biased and is against the father.

Take another example of a murder case which is going on for years in the courts .Wouldn't the family of the one who was the victim want to take some actoin on their own(which may be against the law) than to sit idle and see the culprit released or not given an appropriate sentence in accordance with his crime?

The inner self of people is prone to ideas which may be constructive or destructive.Sometimes these are satisfied, while in most of the cases they aren't.Some cases, which can easily be solved by mututal agreement are often brought into the law and stretched interminately, which is opposite to the interests of both the factions.Like the cases of

minor disputes between the lands of two farmers where one wants to confiscate the land of the other.In many such cases lands of both may be annexed(by the government)or the judgement is against the other.

I agree that abiding by the laws is a must for any individual of a democratic society as these are the foundations on which the society is layed upon.However,not in all cases can these laws solely be used for the purpose of resolving a dispute and ,may even worsen a case.