Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

To recognize a nation as a great one, there should be a collection of criteria met by the nation. Sticking only to one factor cannot conclusively lead us to a nation deserved to name great. The author of the statement above, however, believes that when people have the welfare, then the nation is the great one. Furthermore, the author claims that the surest indicator of a great nation cannot be the achievements of the rulers, artists, or scientists.

To begin with, of course, only having accomplishments of artists, rulers, or scientists cannot suffice to prove the greatness of a nation, beca...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.