Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.Write a response in which you discuss the exte

Students in classroom have always struggled learning some boring courses, however it's important for them to learn such courses to be successful in life. I believe that it is important for educators to develop courses with a strong view of the future job market and the field of study's needs, however they should also account for student's interests to shape the curriculum, but in a weaker manner.

In one hand, proffesors know what is best for their students to thrive out there in the job market, so it is important for students to learn the courses even if they are boring. I can recall when I was a college students struggling in learning mathematics, I always thought they were simply the least useful course a geologist should know, however, later in life I appreciated the professor push on this topic since maths helped me a lot when starting to learn geophysics, subbject I'm developing now at work. So, experienced proffesors have years learning what has been more useful for them and this gives them the right to shape the curriculum of a department.

In addition to the experience of the proffesors in the job market, I really consider the experience they can have as educators. Who better than them to know what is the trends of learning a student should follow. Sometimes, students are very excited to learn a new subject that seems really interesting, but, they are not aware that a step-by-step procedure should be followed to ensure a flawless learning. This was the case when in my department everybody wanted to learn sequence stratigraphy, but proffesor Lewis in a wise talk told us "first learn a really solid sedimentology, then you might learn S.S."

In the other hand, educators should also listen to student's opinion of what they're intrested in. It is obvious that less than 100% of students will dedicate to industry, there is always a precentage who chooses to develope other types of job like "research" on specific fields. This students can show their interests, for example, in a geology major, imagine that the 10% of them want to develop research in Mars geology, so listening to them would help courses developers to focus more on sedimentology of deserts (Since mars's geology ressemble to deserts) to comply with students interest on these fields.

In conclusion, educators that shape the curriculum of study should follow their experience they have had in the job market and their experience as proffesors to shape the curriculum of a major's department, but they should also listen to students who have the talent and desire to dedicate to other matters like research, since they are the future of the development of the X field they are studying.