Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Education is the building block towards the success of an individual. A student's future is based on the outcome of the courses that he has studied. Syllabus is always framed by meritorious professors keeping in mind the potential and calibre of every kid. Hence, I feel that the judgement could be given in the hands of professionals and not a naïve person. Moreover, options could be given to a graduate or the one in business school.

Further, relevance of a particular course is best understood by a teenager rather than an elementary school student. Therefore, until the school level, it could be mandatory to follow the course set up by professionals. The reason behind this is that, at the growing stage, kids must be exposed to all types of courses of their age. Only then, when they become bigger, they would understand the need and interest and choose courses favourable to them.For example, a second grader might say that, in future, he would like to become a pilot owing to the craze for flying. Similarly, a girl child might want to open a parlor as she could be interested in cosmetics. A boy child, at a very young age might aim to become a police officer looking at the heroes in his favourite movie. Thus, for a school going child, the world is a fascination and future is to dream. we cannot ask about a particular course to such a child.

On the other hand, when it comes to college level of studies, there is no harm in getting the suggestions of the student as he is the one to study it. At the same time, valuable suggestions and interests should be evoked in a student who is the best in academics and who is able to differentiate between a good course and a better one.

Adding to the above said points, we can clearly distinguish the pattern and mode of study at various stages and for many courses especially a graduate one. For instance, a mathematician may need programming capabilities to arrive at a result for his solution. In such a case, if the student is interested in pursuing a career oriented towards industry needs, then he may pursue a course in computer science, which could give him an exposure towards industrial problems. On the other hand, there are children who would have joined a particular course due to the compulsion by his parents or relatives and that he has no interest in learning. In such a case, getting the suggestions of students is a mere waste of time.

To end, we can summarize that at an early stage wherein the child us a neophyte courses could be made mandatory whereas for sophomores suggestions could be got based on their interest in a particular field of study. In both the cases, it will be better if the final decision be taken by an emeritus or a person holding greater ranks.