College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Students generally go to colleges strengthen their educational level so that they will be better developed for facing challenges. While attending college, students have to pay fees which might bring some economic burden on them. Keeping this in mind some people might admit that the students should base their choice of a field of students on the availability of jobs. However, I believe that student should not base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Admittedly, there are advantages of a choice of field of study based on the availability of jobs on that field. Students might get jobs as soon as they will be graduated from the college as they are already familiar on that field during college classes which will eventually help them get rid of financial burdens. Some may argue that this would help students to be better skilled beforehand but this falls far behind if they do choose their field of study on the basis of their interests.

The jobs in any market is a trend that fluctuates with time. Generally, the time period a student spends in college is around four years. There is no guarantee that the availability of jobs during the time the student gets enrolled in college will remain the same while he graduates from college. Had the job trends been varied, then the only thing the student will get is frustration which will ruin his life. On the contrary if student had based his study on his own interest then he would collect more knowledge on that field and better prepared for the challenges. For example in Nepal, there was a trend that a lot of jobs were available for civil engineering while I was joining the college but the trends has been changed and a lot of computer engineering jobs plummeted while I graduated. It is therefore a student must base their choice of field based on what interests him.

The choice of the field of study by a college student on the basis of his interest not only benefits him only but also a nation and the whole world as well. There will be a high probability that the zealot a student have in that particular field may lead a new scientific discoveries. A new and noble approaches to solve a problems get developed and whole society, nation and world will be benefited. On the other hand, most people will not work for only money after graduation. They flourish their knowledge to the young people standing above cupidity.

In conclusion, albeit there are certain advantages if college students base their choice of field on the availability of jobs in that field the advantages of the students choosing field on their interests outweigh. Therefore, college students should base their choice of field of study on the basis of their own interests rather than availability of jobs in that field.