College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the aforementioned statement it is advised for students to persue fields that interest them over fields that will lead for a secure career. The advice might sound like a good one, when first encounted. Yet, college students should not be encourged to not plan a head for their post college life.

First, most college students who further their education, do not come from a soci-economic condition which alowes them to forget about career plan and economical obligatons. For example, in an education system like in United States, the tuition is very high and the students will need to pay back loans one way or the other. Thus, they should not neglect their ability to pay back money to their loaners; they should sharpen their financial skills with courses that provide them the means to pay back their borrowed money.

Another issue that may rise from the statement is that all students are alike. It’s clearly that some students have talent in a very specifivc field, and these students might find it particularly wastefull and maybe even to the state of devestation of their academic career if they will be forced to take classes outside of their propencity. For such students it can be almost impossible to even pass courses that are not inherent to their diploma.

Further more, most schools already do propse variety of multi-diciplanry programs for the students who do whish to participate in a wider education. It is possible in most Universities to take classes from different faculties and complete double majors or similar programs which involve “the best of both worlds”, as far as job and interest don’t collide.

Finally, it dose not have to be that way of contrasting relationship between interest and job as reflected in the “rather than” part of the statement. Some of the most prolific people in history could leverage their interest in academic stage to a ground breaking career as graduates. John Lennon studied art, Andy Warhol studied commercial arts, Albert Einstein had interest in physics. And that was just to name just a few. People do excel when they do something they like and naturaly inclined to.

To conclude, it is important to develop ones interest. But from the given above reasons it is essential not to neglect the economic side of the equation. Because, after college it’s a hard day’s night.