Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The author of this statement recommends that all faculties must spend time working outside of academic environment. As far as I am concerned, this is a controversial issue and we can not give the same answer for all courses. I take this position account the following reasons.

First, usually teachers use boring methods of teaching, which have not more linked with the real world. This policy lets teachers to touch nature and adopt their knowledge with the real world. Moreover they could link theories with real examples and makes their teaching more attractive.

A further point we must consider is that the real world can inspire teachers to discover new thing, creating functional equipment, or even painting an awesome paint. As it is known, imagination plays a crucial role in most field of study, especially art courses. A painter can paint new landscapes out of the university, or writer can gain new idea for his writing.

In contrast, this policy may be usefulness in some courses such as mathematics. The university has many special facilities that a teacher can not have access them out of university. I think that there is not a better example of teacher of theoretical physics. This teacher has to use of mathematics equation and computer applications for confirming his theory. In addition, the specialized laboratory allows him to do accurately experiments and gain better result.

All above evidence supports this fact that working out of academic environment can assists teachers to enrich their knowledge, gain deeper understanding, and improve their method of teaching. Admittedly, as an English proverb “a coin has two sides”; therefore, those have the opposite view partially reasonable that in some field of study, teachers needs to work in the in the specialized laboratories, which only are in the university.