Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Because of the technology and the advancement in the 21th century, all of us have a lot of chances and time to explore the world. Definitely, school is the best place where we learn, we study and we change, so the professors’ proficiency is indispensable in the university. It’s important that the more knowledge the professors have, the better way we learn. Those knowledge includes the academic world and its outsider. However, I don’t totally agree that the school should require “all” the faculty to spend their time on the outside relevant field. In my view, encouraging certain professional fields is a better choice to foster people to get the new ideas.

Admittedly, what we learn on the world is not only the academic region but also numerous life experience in our daily lives. If we can incorporate theory and pragmatic skills when we study, it can bring us unexpected explosions and innovative points. For example, in the chemistry, we usually use the formulas and the equations as foundations that we come up with new products. We have to confirm that the product could be utilized in the real world. So if we just sit in the lab and do the research without embodying the idealistic and the realistic, we might design an improper and impracticable thing. Thus, it’s wise that the university require chemistry professors to have practical experience.

However, there would be some subjects that didn’t improve with the real world. Those subjects need equipment and labs to observe their phenomena and record their data. For instance, the electromagnetism is invisible, so we could not just watch it with our eyes on the street and explain how does the electromagnetic work. The true feelings or the work experience couldn’t help us, nonetheless, amount of data and calculation are necessary for us to understand it.

Furthermore, we would get the wrong information from the real world without examining it. Anecdotes and legends sometimes are unimpeachable, and we even did not have the chance to scrutinize them because everyone has already believed and accepted them for many years. If we have opportunity to correct a myth through a scientific view, we might bring another benefits and accurate facts to people. For example, some people believed that dreams were kinds of views that portended our futures. These views could make people to prepare or forestall what might be happened. There wasn’t any science proof to show these signs. However, the recent scientific paper indicates that people dream because we put what we were thinking about and what we ignored in real world to our dreams. Thus, the dreams seem real and make us convince that dreams are specific and special predictions in our lives. Dream is a review about what we experienced rather than what might be happen. Therefore, it is not compulsory for professors to accept fables from the outside academic world before they begin their research.

In conclusion, it is reasonable that the schools require faculty to get new expertise from the outside academic field, but the school should also considerate which subject did indeed need the experience. Without careful circumspect, the university may lead some confusion to professors why their savvy is related to pragmatic world.