Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In today's competitive world companies strive to excel in any way possible. One of those ways is to monitor employees activities. A specific way to monitor this activity is by routinly performing checks on email. The author posits that companies should conduct such check ups. This is a complex issue that involves lifes of many individuals. Therefore, companies should use monitoring but with respect to their workers privacy and well being.

First, there is a little doubt that roaming around in work can be deleterious and wasteful for any organization. it is a known secret that checking email can reduce productivity levels on any size of organization. As a freelancer I can share how such activities of engaging in email and social networking consumed my working day and sometimes even weeks. So monitoring can be an effective way to address such issue with ace. a monitoring device which installed on a personal computer can show the accumulated time that is being virtualy thrown off when emailing, and that is just the raw time without calculating the distruction effects that cause emailers to lose focus while emailing again and again.

As a result of the forementioned behavior, the productivity of the whole organization is risked. In that sense, looking for and deploying systems to monitor workers habits is a good move by the management. When working hours are used for working everyone is benefiting: same amount of value is achieved in a lesser amount of time. Which, at least in theory but also in practice in very productive states like Germany, more time for the employees in their life outside work. In productive states like Germany, the workers work for less time and gain better results. One main reasons for this phenomena is the high work ethic of the German people. When they go to work they do just that, work. And that allows many of the Germans to enjoy a seven hours working day.

Notwithstanding the improvement in productivity some issues of working benefits and well being should be addressed by companies before proscribing monitoring on their employees. First and foremost, privacy. Privacy is an important civil right. An employee should not be monitored as far as that other employees will have access to their private information. For example, last week, I happened to encounter a facebook post which one person described private chat of another person at work, deriding it. Personaly, it fealt unmoral act to me. Shaming is indeed one of the many risks that companies should address regarding the well being of their employees before employing such policy.

To conclude, financialy it seems that the move for monitoring emails will be more than reasonable. Yet, companies should really secure the well being of their employees before deploying the monitoring of email. This is a complex issue that requires a certain vision from the firm that emables it to protect the workers rights while enhancing productivity.