Company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. Such monitoring will reduce the waste of resources such as time and system capacity, as well as protect the company from lawsuits.

E-mail plays a vital role in any company as most of the communication takes place through them. It has all the evidences, code, decisions, any issues which came up and everything is noted in e-mail which are of immense importance. One can not afford to lose such e-mail. On the contrary, these e-mails over a period of time become cumbersome to handle and takes up most of the system memory. This results in both system capacity crisis and system slowness. To counter this, I would agree that company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence.

Even though every employee signs an agreement at the time of joining company, they tend to sell company's confidential information. There are cases wherein employee share these information with some outside party. In return they get some incentive but if caught company can be in trouble. This may led to lawsuits and hamper company's overall reputation. I would not agree that company should delete all emails permanently as in scenarios like lawsuits, these email could be of help as evidences. I would suggest that company should take backup of all the emails and delete from the main system. This will revoke access of individual employee from using old information, it will also create more system capacity enhancing system speed.

However, it is not a good practice to remove entire data of email from system. Some emails are required by the employee on regular basis. In order to counter such scenarios, company should allow user to create a backup of their emails which they require on regular basis and inspect these emails while monitoring on regular basis. These emails should not be having any confidential or sensitive data. If this is tackled, then management should be good to go with the monitoring and deletion process.

During on going projects, developer tend to share product code over emails, which is legally not acceptable. If clients comes to know that their code has been shared over email or by any means of communication it can led to lawsuits and company will be in trouble. This code share among developer is not avoidable, on the other hand it can be dangerous if clients visits company and finds such code being shared. So, it is better if company monitors such emails and delete on regular basis.

Thus, we can infer that company management should conduct routine monitoring of all employee e-mail correspondence. This would ensure that company is free of any chances of lawsuits and security is intact.