The concept of free will is a fallacy. Many actions are not the product of choice; thus, people should not be held responsible for them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Proponents of the notion that free will is a fallacy have reasoned over the years that many actions are not the product of choice and that humans should bear no responsibility of the results of these actions. However, this idea fails to recognize that there are many actions that occur that done by choice and that the results of some actions, regardless of their source, people should take responsibility.

First, while there are those who believe that humans are just a result of predictable actions of atoms working in unision, the reality is that human behavior is widly regarded as the most unpredictable force on earth. This is because humans can choose to do anything, or not. For instance, a recently published study in Psychology Today claimed that during a choice test, the brain wave patterns in humans never repeated under any circumstance. This indicates that humans can make unique decisions that can never be predicted. If a choice cannot be predicted, than there are no underlying biases that influence this choice. Thus, choices and free will does in fact exist.

Second, just because an action is not the product of a choice, doesn't mean that humans should not take responsibility for it. For example, should doctors not be held responsible and take care of sick patients just because the pathogen is not choosing to hurt that person? No, the notion that people should not be responsible for anything is an erroneous belief because there are many actions, being a product of choice or not, that need a human to take responsibility to fix.

In a final analysis, while some actions may be a choice, and other may not be a choice, the reality is that there is a middle ground that the world is not black and white. Many decisions are both from independent choice and of the influence of other factors. For example, look at how having a bad day can make someone lash out and be mean to other people. They were influenced from being in a bad mood, but they also had the choice to lash out on other people.

In conclusion, the concept of free will is strong, but not perfect.