Critical judgment of work in any given fields has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Are critical judgments important to us, even if they are not from specialists? According to the claim, the answer is negative. Despite the fact that most people’s opinions are not of the same value as those experts, I still insist that it is valuable for anyone to make a critical judgment.

In science and technology area, it has been an undeniable truth that most great innovation comes from critical thinking. Einstein would not established a new theory of relativity if he accepted the basic rules of physics without doubt. At that time, he was not eligible enough to challenge the position of Newton, but he managed to do it by critical ideas. During the industrial evolution, Watt invented stream engine, and created Jenny Spin, while they could not be compared with those physical experts at all. Or if they were contend about the speed and production efficiency of the machines at their ages, they would not come up with brand new ideas. Thus, it could be easily drawn that critical judgment can contribute much to the scientific area, regardless of where they are from.

It is the same in other fields such as arts, literature and history. Artists have displayed tremendous various forms of art works since the ancient times, the later generation sometimes just copied the former artists’ works, but more created their own style based on the inspirations suddenly crossed their minds when they appreciated the former artifacts from a critical perspective. Even amateurs like us could appraise a picture from different angles, and these different views may broaden the horizons or expand the later artists’ thinking range. In historic or literature area, the proprieties of the former famous experts may even deny their views and raise their own opinions. Although the young are deemed too foolhardy , being derided by others for the lack of value in their opinions, they do work as a catalyst for the development of that area.

For a nation, it is especially essential for the people to keep critical eyes towards the policies in order to improve the welfare of the whole people.Some so-called economists or politicians usually assert that their theories are absolutely right, while the policies they advocate are likely to fail in obtaining their original goals. Though they are specialists in certain areas, their theories may not correspondent to the practical situations. Therefore, common people, who are the victims of the potential negative consequences, should view these policies critically before carried out, or protest them if their rights are intruded. In democratic countries, there are many methods for the mass to participate in politics, as everyone is responsible for a thriving nation, they are encouraged to take different sides and make their own analysis.

In sum, although the different opinions from common people are not equal to those from the experts, their values could not be undermined. Only by critical thinking from various people can the society develop in a more prosperous way.