"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large. "

An organisation runs to earn profit and reach greater heights leaving behind its competitors.There is an implicit competition between corporations to earn the maximum profit .The issue in hand talks about the desire of corporations to maximise profit creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large.I agree with the given the statement and below are the points which substantiate my stand.

A corporations main objective is to increase its profit , even if it costs the welfare of the society as a whole.Corporations are known to be ruthless to achieve their targetsFor example,there are many cases reported in newspapers about how a factory deposited its waste product in the nearby river without even caring to treat it first.The river water is used by the population living nearby,causing diseases like cancer etc.This type of apathy towards nature especially humans reflect that the cooperations care only about there well being and not of the society as a whole.

Even smaller companies go to any extent to increase their profit margins creating a ruckus in the society .A very good example is given below.When the prices of pulses in India rose ,The government conducted raids in godowns of various suppliers ,only to find tonnes of pulses being hoarded to be sold in higher price increasing the inflation in the country .This clearly indicated that the companies where not interested to help the government to control inflation but where a factor increasing it .

Another example can be the numerous chit funds company running throughout the world.The corporations collect the money from the public with a promise of increasing the amount only to be later found out of them being fraud.Innocent people loose their life savings in this scams ,leading to anger among people.

All the organisations are not the same . Several other corporations which take into consideration nations welfare also.For example,Reliance telecom,corporation in India launched a cheap mobile data plan for a dream of Digital India.This plan will not only help them earn profit but also help in digitalising the country.Many organisations are also involved in philanthropy works.

So,it is correct to conclude that the primary objective of corporations is to maximise profit but amidst such corporations many organisations are thriving and earning profits but keeping in mind the welfare of the nation as a whole.