Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The above prompt is about whether the discussion of contoversial topics with people having opposing views are useful or not. I agree that it is nearly impossible to change people's mind about their core beliefs especially the people who fall under the age category of 50+. This is because, their whole life they were taught that these core beleifs were true and are extremely important for the way the behave. These beliefs indispensible to them and make them who they are today. For example, in Indian culture, it is belived that children are not supposed to talk back to their parents and just follow anything and everything they say, no matter what. And if the child and the parent has a difference of opinion and the child tries to speak up, it is believed that the child is disparaging the parents. And this belief is what causes sundry predicaments in the family.

There is no right or wrong, there are only posits, which are considered to be "right" or "wrong" by a certain group of people. For example, some people may believe that girls should not wear short clothes because some people consider it to be indecent and assume that girls wear such clothes only to seek more attention, which might not be the case actually. And people with such a belief, would never change their mind about such a sensitive issue because they have been brought up like that. They have a jaundiced mindset, which is very difficult to change.

The elder people of our society have a very callous mindset, and are pedantic. For example, Indians, the people who are above the age of 60, they are usually jingoistic and consider athesim as a stigma. The elderly people sure have more experience but they still believe in obsolete practices like the dowry. the elderly cannot be blamed for believeing in such a thing as they themselves might have gone through it. They have had the same belief or mindset for the past 30-40years which cannot be easily broken.

In conclusion, the discussions of controversial and sensitive topics among people with contrasting views and opinions, might help for the other person to understand one's view but it is still nearly impossible to change their minds about their core beliefs.