The drawbacks to the use of nuclear power mean that it is not a long-term solution to the problem of meeting ever-increasing energy needs.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

The issue of whether or not nuclear power is not an appropriate solution for the ever-increasing energy needs due to its drawbacks is debatable. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, nuclear power is actually very reliable and safe to be used.

First, nuclear power emits a lot less greenhouse gases compared to other energy sources. It has been determined that the amount of greenhouse gases has decreased tremendously with the use of nuclear power. Nuclear energy does not emit methane or carbon dioxide like other energy sources do, thus it is favorable to be the solution to meet the energy needs.

Second, nuclear power plant does not depend on climate change in order to produce energy. Unlike solar and wind energy, nuclear energy is reliable because it can provide energy all year long without being interrupted. Rain or shine, nuclear power plant is able to produce energy without any interruptions.

Some may argue that nuclear power has drawbacks such as being too expensive to construct a single nuclear power plant due to the need of complex radiation containment systems. This point is flawed because although it may be expensive to build a power plant, the normal life of nuclear reactor ranges from 40 to 60 years depending on how it is used and how often it is used. Thus, when seen in a long run, the expense of constructing a power plant is considerably very low.

In conclusion, nuclear power is a great solution to the continuous growing need of energy. Nuclear energy does not only provide energy all year long, but it is also safe to the environment. For these reasons, nuclear power should be the solution to the problem of meeting ever-increasing energy needs.