Educational institution have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Some people believe that educational institutions such as colleges have a responsibility to persuade students not to choose fields they are unlikely to success because they consider it as waste of time. Although this viewpoint looks very thoughtful to students, it is definitely not a good suggest.

First of all, it is very hard to predict which area is unlikely to succeed. Actually it varies through time and space. An area which is easier to succeed now does not mean it will keep unchanged four year late. People in a major which is hard to find a profitable job here does not indicate they cannot find a well payment job in another place. Therefore, it is unconvincing to tell students which field has low possibility to achieve. At the beginning of twenty century, computer related areas became very famous and people at that time did believe choosing computer major can guarantee a high payment job in the future. However, after they graduate, plenty of them found the market was full of computer engineers and people with this diploma could hardly find a major related job. Thus, we can see that giving such advice is invalid itself and can always cause misleading.

Besides, students have the right to make their own choice. People have the right to pursuing the field they are interested in without considering outcome. Actually, throughout the history of mankind, most of the inventions and great achievements started with uncertain. Electronic light came from plenty of attempts and failures. Before the discovering of Wolfram, Edison could never been sure whether he can achieve it in his lifetime. Some aspects is really hard to make achievement, however, we do need people to explore. If everyone turn to the easiest area, it is impossible for human to have new discovery any more.

However, some opponents may argue that if educational institutions dissuade students from hard fields, it can help them save a lot of time and can also prevent the negative emotion they will meet in the future. I do disagree with that. Admittedly, everyone has different traits and personality. Even if we can have a relatively clear sense of which field is very hard, we still cannot be sure whether that is sure for a particular person. There are always some people not as usual as ordinary people. Even the first ninny nine person cannot achieve in this special area, there is always the one hundredth who can do what others cannot. That is why humans are all unique. We can never judge what is impossible to do for others. As we know, interest is the best teacher for students. If one is interested in a field, he can always enjoy it and make something a little bit different.

According to all reasons listed above, it is improper for educational institutions to give such advice and dissuade students giving up their favorite fields. Defining which area is hard to succeed is very objective and unconvincing. Furthermore, in the way of pursuing science and truth, we always need those who are willing to sacrifice themselves to some endless and sometime hopeless areas.