Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Education is fundamental requirement of a human being. Educational institute plays a crucial role in building the future of their students. I strongly disapprove the idea that educational institutes have a responsibility to dissuade the student from pursuing the field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

For the very basic reason that no matter how much learned you might be or how much ever experienced you are, it is not impossible that you will not be wrong or you cannot take wrong decisions. So, any educational institute should not have control over the life decisions of the student's life. One of the most fundamental aspect of education is a gradual process called learning. A student can only gain experience from their own mistakes and decide truly where their potential lies. An educational institute can provide with the material and maybe some suggestions regarding whatever they think will be suitable for the student but it is the decision of the student so as to pursue what in their life. In India due to poverty, a lot of people try to do either engineering or medical to earn more and lead a better future life although their true potential doesn't lie in that. Despite that, they do well enough in their respective fields and are able to lead a decent life. Had it been educational institute's decision as to if the student has aptitude for doing engineering or medical then condition in India would have been lot more difficult for people struggling to make their lives better. This in turn proves that a student can do what they want to if they have determined to do so.

This brings my next point. If a student has determined something and is willing to pursue some career then they will put their effort for it and will become better and improve themselves. Hence, previously when students did not have aptitude for some subject might have improved to a decent level in that subject. Hence, strong determination can make a lot of difference. History has many prominent evidences in this. One of those is Micheal Jordan, he was not at all good in basketball in his high school which was very reason why he was thrown out of his highs school basketball team. But, his love and dedication to basketball has now made him a world renowned player in basketball.

Surely, we can see that if educational institute have a saying in guiding students to a field where they are likely to succeed then it will help students to complete their credits in colleges in respective domain and quickly become a member of working class society but this will defy one of the most fundamental principle of education that is learning from experiences and mistakes. This will produce working professional who do not have decisive nature and lack self confidence.

This concludes my stance as to why educational institutes should not be given authority to decide the field of study for the student.