Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutes have the responsibility to turn students into better individuals capable of thinking for themselves by themselves. Institutes have no right to force them to opt-out of the field they think would fail in, rather, institutes shall be supportive and motivate the student to work hard to achieve their goals.

Though it is true that teachers have experience and sometimes they can figure out a student lacks the potential to thrive in a certain field. But, that doesn’t mean that they should discourage the students from perusing that field. Instead, teachers should be motivating and point out the flaws in student is making in his/her approach. No one is perfect from the start, even the great minds of today were once beginners, and it is only through constant hard work, dedication and pristine work ethic that they have achieved the milestone they stand at today.

If John Nash was told that he shouldn’t follow the field of mathematics because his teachers didn’t feel he would succeed, we would have deprived of one of the most amazing theories of recent times. The fact is Nash was almost persuaded by his professors to leave mathematics because he was never seen inside the classroom, and many scholars believed he was just wasting his time wandering around the campus. But, it just took him one moment of inspiration to come up with the Nash Equilibrium equation, a theory that broke many beliefs and shook many minds in the field of mathematics. There is a plethora full of examples such as this, where student potential is either invisible to the institution or he is just a late bloomer. Nonetheless, no one can foresee the future and no one can say it with absolute certainty that one would succeed in his/her chosen field or not. So, the best an institute can do is prepare its students to become responsible individuals, capable of dealing with failure and hardships of life.

One could argue that teachers have seen all types of students and are far better equipped to choose a field for their students, keeping in mind the potential a student exhibits. Well, if this is true, even then, forcing a student to take a field, he/she is uninterested in, would cause the student to become unreceptive towards education, making the case worse. Hence, if a teacher firmly believes that a student is not cut out for a particular field and despites his/her hard work and dedication, is still falling short of what is required to succeed in the said field, then he should make sure that student learns something else simultaneously. A new course or a skill that would serve as a backup plan, if he fails to succeed in his primary field. This is the only way institutes can ensure that their student succeed, without subjecting them to any mental pressure or depression.

In conclusion, I disagree with the point that universities have the responsibility of dissuading students from persuading a field they are unlikely to succeed in. Universities have the responsibility to provide students with an environment where students can fully invest in themselves, by giving them the necessary tools and guidance to make them fully equipped to embark on the quest of finding success in their chosen field. Also, they should motivate students to take side courses and skill sets that would work as a back plan in worst-case scenario.