Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

In this issue, the author cites that dissuading students from their fields which they are not going to be succeed is the responsibility of educational institution. this claim definitely has its own advocates and dissidents; however, the author fails to address his or her reasons on which this claim is based. In what it follows I will mention some of the reasons that antagonists and protagonists of this claim hold and after that I will delineate my own reason in rejecting this claim.

At first, some people believe that educational institution are responsible for guiding all students who can be successful in their chosen fields and simultaneously dissuade the ones selecting the fields in which they may not supposed to be successful. These people have their own reasons such as the institutions’ key role in helping the students and families in finding the proper filed which can be useful for the students according to their talents and capabilities. The other reason that these people insist on is saving the budget of the institutions. While this budget can be consumed concentrating on finding the proper fields tantamount to students apabilities, why it should be spent on fallacious ways in which students may fail and consequently relinquish the field some day, they usually ask.

Some other people hold this idea that it is not planned for the institutions to persuades or dissuades the students. Actually, it is more than their responsibilities. Instead, students themselves should peruse a filed in which they interested and then pursue it. This point is really crucial because it will either prove that the chosen filed was appropriate for the student or provide priceless experiments for him. If pedagogy system is going to affect students' field of study direction, then what is the meaning of "free will". Moreover, if a student chooses his own field even if it was wrong, it gives him a so great potential and confidence that he can be more persistent and resilient in studying. Furthermore, it is not rational to accept all educational institution's instructions. Maybe they make mistakes in dissuading the students from pursuing his selected field .Maybe they kill the students' eagerness for studying for ever. No one knows.

Regardless of the rationale of people who believe that the educational institutions should dissuade the student from continuing his chosen filed , I think there is more than talent in a student's mind for choosing and continuing a field and that is his hidden motivations. I think every student should have the opportunity of choosing the wrong filed too. The proper way or field could be illustrated later but only by means of making mistakes. The best example is Darwin who was pushed to law school but at the end of the day he rescinded it and followed what was his interest "the biology".

In sum, there are many people who state that the pedagogy system should dissuade the students from continuing the special fields in which they may lose. Even though their reasons are rational, I think the students eagerness, interests and the sense of independence in choosing a field of study are playing more vital roles which can be more efficacious in being successful rather than being showed the apposite way.