Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Time Limit: 30 mins

When we were children, we were told that once we grow up we can be anything we want. To have the institute we choose to attend to achieve this dream attempt to dissuade us from it would be a slap in the face of that notion. The right to choose your path in life is yours to make and yours alone regardless of how difficult of a path that may be. Once leaving the basic schooling systems of elementary and high school level education, the hand holding stage of life is over and students should be making choices on their own as free thinking adults. The responsibility to pursue a field of study that is attainable and fruitful is up to the student and the student alone.

No institute of higher learning should be attempting to sway the decisions that students are making concerning their own lives. Especially if that student is indebting themselves in order to attend that institute. If all students took the easy and safe path in their education then many of societies major advances would have never been made. If Bill Gates chose to study finance because his institution persuaded him into a different and easier path then we could easily still be using pen and paper as our only medium of communication and learning as opposed to wonders personal computers have provided us. Our futures are our’s to decide and no institute to attempt to stop that.

On the other hand many may argue that it is for the betterment of society as a whole that these institutes steer students into a field that they will be able to succeed in so that they can be a contributing member to society. However, these students are no longer children. They are fully capable and functioning adults. They should no longer be caudeled and babied into taking the safe choice or only persuing what others are saying is best for them. They need to learn and succeed and fail on their own. If we applied the logic of choosing the safe and easy path for everyone, then our society would become unable to think and make critical decisions on its own once that time came. This would leave our students and future leaders illequiped with the basic abilities to think and choose freely on their own.