Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supp

The statement claims that Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. I strongly disagree the claim, especially the word "dissuade" which means to discourage or demotivate. Educational Institutions should respect the choice of student and may guide them to success.

Firstly, Educational Institutions are established for the welfare of students, they are meant to motivate the students to persuade their dreams. Dissuading students from their interested fields will just add disinterested students to that field of study. Students certainly cant perform as well as they could in their interested fields. Educational Institutions cannot judge the potential of a student better than thyself. As the quote says "If we judge the fish for the ability of it to fly, it spends the whole life feeling stupid". Students must be given complete freedom for selection of their future, Educational Institutions must mentor them rather than dissuading then.

Secondly, We should not always choose the clear path to success. Failure is considered the best teacher, Its by failure-One learns the lessons and proceed in a better direction. Failure just ameliorates the process and failing hasn't stopped people from discoveries and inventions. Some people love to choose the "The road which is less taken" with their passion and explore new things and pursue their dreams. It is a blunder to judge the long-term success of the student by extrapolating his previous performance in the particular chosen field. A student may perform exceptionally well or deteriorate his performance in the future. Performance and success of the student is driven by the passion and interests of the student.

In addition to this, example of Albert Einstein advocates the discussion. Albert Einstein won Nobel Prize in Physics for his work on The Theory of Relativity, One of the greatest minds ever lived. Albert Einstein was bullied by his teachers because he was dull in maths, Einstein was a poor student in studies. His Institution never recognized his abilities and his capabilities. If he was dissuaded from pursuing the physicist career, we would not have the Theory of Relativity and "Energy mass relation", which helped to unfold mysteries and unsolved questions in the world of physics.

Therefore, Educational Institutions should not dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. As Educational Institutions have no right to do so, Student always have the right to choose their own future and destiny.