Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Through the history of humanity, there has hardly been a living soul that was equally succesuful in both humanities and science. From early age we tend to lean towards literature and languages or math and physics. But does that mean that we are destined to fail if we try to give our best in other fields? Certainly not. That is why educational institutions should not dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

First, let us analyze the term „unlikely to succeed“. How can anyone know if a student will accomplish great results in a certain field or fail miserably? It is possible to make assumptions based on past results, but that does not mean that future results are going to be same. Mila Veljic, a former student from Belgrade, Serbia, has had severe problems with math in her highschool. Nevertheless, she decided to study Electroengeneering, a field that requires an expert level of math knowledge. Her teachers were against her decision, but four years later she proved them wrong, graduating with top grades. This illustrates how hard it is to project someones success or failure.

Furthermore, trial and error is the best method for students that vacillate between different options. Say we have a student who is bad at English, but finds the idea of teaching English to children in China very tempting. The best way for this person to figure out what to do is to try to study English, even if it does not turn out well in the end. If his teachers try to persuade him not to do so, he will never know for sure if he would become a good English teacher.

Thirdly, freedom of choice is something that has to be guaranteed for students, same as for everyone else. If an educational institution would try to dissuade students from studying something they are not so good at, that would represent a breaking of their freedom of choice. Through history, women were often advised not to pursue careers in „typically male“ fields such as science. Some professions were even prohibited for them. But if these remarkable women had indeed followed the rules, we would never have brilliant minds such as Mileva Einstein and Marie Curie. Some could argue that these women should have dedicated their energy to something they were good at in the first place, but then these outstanding scientists would have stayed stranded in the kitchen, making soup.

Considering all the examples given, I strongly believe that educational institutions do not have the right to make decisions for their students. Students need to make their own choices when it comes to fields of study and future professional development.