Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education is the supreme investment one could make for himself and his future. The world works on educated minds and was built by educated minds so I don’t have to point out that it will always have a place for people and their intellect. However, it should be made clear that not all people are built for the toils that investment banking comes with or the diligence that computer scientists find requisite. Therefore I must admit that the presented suggestion has my full affirmation- with only a twist to a certain point-of-view.

Any student’s education consists of 6 parts, namely, Pre-School, Primary Education, Secondary Education, Under-Graduates, Graduates and Doctorate. While it is very much necessary to complete a minimal necessity course until secondary education to function and survive in this opportunistic world, to be able to carry out mechanical jobs at the least, one often fails to decide whether one should go for higher education. Even if they do decide to pursue higher academics, they should be very pellucid regarding their endeavors.

Higher education implores the student to pursue specialization. While most students are capable of primary education, not all have the ken to compete at a higher-platform. Universities and educational institutions should recognize this and make ways so that such wrong steps are not given much investment. An aptitude test works out really well to filter out the batch of students according to their strengths and skills. Moreover, they could also help the student himself to understand him better and be a more successful person in life than he would be by following trends of the seemingly studious colleagues. Those that would be exceptionally skilled at marketing and salesman-ship would fit quite horribly in an advanced study of looped quantum-gravity and contrarily so, those that are gifted with critical analysis and problem-solving capabilities would be naïve as doctors that require practice more than improvisation.

On the other hand, it may work out well for a person who has genuine interest in a specific field and knows its explored areas, its limitations and the way he could fit in- even if he doesn’t necessarily have the required knowledge to pursue his dreams. Man has always learnt as situations have come up and education can be no different in that way. For example, I used to be a failure at my secondary education but given my propensities towards personal-computing and innovation, today I’m proudly pursuing my dream-field, Natural Language Processing; Did I tell you I have already published 3 papers?

So, in conclusion, one can say that institutions need to filter out the appropriate students for their courses. But! While doing so, they also need to take into account the person’s proclivity and knowledge before considering their intellect.